The Fulbright Program is authorized by Public Law 87-256, the Mutual Educational and Cultural Exchange Act of 1961.

The purpose of the program is "to enable the government of the United States to increase mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the people of other countries."


The primary source of funding is an annual appropriation
made by the Congress to the U.S. Department of State.

Participating governments and host institutions in many countries and in the U.S. also contribute financially through cost-sharing as well as by indirect support such as supplementary salary, tuition waivers, university housing, or other benefits.

Grants are made to U.S. citizens and nationals of other countries for a variety of educational activities, primarily university teaching, advanced research, graduate study, and teaching in elementary and secondary schools.


 (Please click here for "A Brief Legislative Chronology of the Fulbright Program")

  • Facebook Social Icon